Member, Planning Commission

Former Member, Planning Commission

Dr. Narendra Jadhav served as a Member, Planning Commission (in the rank and status of Union Minister of State). He took over this responsibility on June 16, 2009 and was sworn in by the Prime Minister on July 27, 2009. Planning Commission is chaired by the Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh with Shri Montek Singh Ahluwalia as the Deputy Chairman. As Member, Planning Commission, Dr.Jadhav’s sectoral responsibilities included Education, Labour-Employment-Skill Development, Sports & Youth Affairs, and Social Justice and Empowerment. In addition, Dr. Jadhav looked after the States of Bihar, Tamil Nadu, and Goa, besides the Union Territories of Diu-Daman and Dadra-Nagar Haveli. Dr. Jadhav played an important role in formulating the 12th Five Year Plan especially in respect of Education, Skill Development, and Social Justice and Empowerment.

Dr. Narendra Jadhav also served as a Member, National Advisory Council (NAC), chaired by Smt. Sonia Gandhi, with effect from May 31, 2010. Dr. Jadhav has made significant contributions to the deliberations of the NAC, especially in the areas of ‘Food Security’, ‘Skill Development for the Marginalised’, and the ‘Denotified, Nomadic and Semi-Nomadic Tribes’